DWI/DUI/OUI

DUI defense you can trust in Alaska

Alaska is home to some of the toughest DUI laws in the country. Defense Attorney Shanahan has successfully protected hundreds of clients who have been accused of "driving under the influence." He also has extensive experience with related offenses such as felony vehicular assault, refusal to submit to a chemical test, felony DUI/OUI/Refusal and varying degrees of vehicular homicide.

Why are Alaska’s laws considered so tough? The penalties are merciless. Getting convicted for a first time offense carries heavy repercussions, unlike any other first time misdemeanor. These include:  

     • Mandatory $1,500 fine - maximum of $10,000 
     • Mandatory 90 day revocation of your driver's license 
     • Minimum of 72 hours of jail (3 days) - maximum 30 days first offense, otherwise up to one year for prior offenses 
     • Impound of your vehicle for 30 days if charged by the MOA 
     • Probation for up to 2 years 
     • Alcohol classes (ASAP) 
     • Increased vehicle insurance required for 5 years (SR-22) 
     • 6-month Ignition Interlock Device Requirement 

Police officers are required to take a certain test for administering Standardized Field Sobriety Tests (SFSTs). Attorney Phil Shanahan has aced the very same training and tests. He therefore can recognize when tests have been administed incorrectly. A DUI attorney who understands the complexities and shortcomings of the SFSTs can provide you with just representation. Talk to us about DUI defense throughout Alaska.

The penalties for felony DUIs are more stringent. Please call our office for more information.

Share by: